logo white st_edited.png

NFTauction 

9 January 4pm

Live stream event off

the Kunsthalle Giessen 
here on
  studiobeisel.com

digital auction on rarible.com

Virtual Showroom

closer look

Kunsthalle Giessen about crypto art, NFTs and St. Beisel:

NFT - Non Fungible Token - means something like 'non-exchangeable character*.
This is a digital file that only exists in virtual space. As a firmly defined form, the token is unique. The NFT is secured by a so-called blockchain - a kind of collectively visible "account book" [Kolja Reichert 2021, p. 10].

 

The data chains contained therein are forgery-proof and document a digital product as well as its ownership history (provenance) permanently and unchangeably. The unique digital file and the security of sale guaranteed by the blockchain make NFTs attractive for a wide variety of areas, whether in the music, film and gaming industries, sports or the fine arts. With the help of blockchain technology, artists are able to upload their digital works quickly and securely to online platforms, make them visible to a wide audience and sell them. The type of art is extremely diverse. NFTs can be singular images as well as videos, animations, collages or purely auditory. Due to their unique data chains, these works of art are equivalent to a signed original. At the same time, the described data chain makes it possible to distinguish the NFT from sensitively identical copies as a digital one-off. On online platforms like OpenSea and Nifty Gateway they can, mostly  through the use of cryptocurrencies.

 

Kevin McCoy's Quantum (#1) is considered the first NFT today. The digital artwork was presented by McCoy at a conference hosted by Rhizome, a digital culture magazine, in 2014 and sold for $1.4 million at Sotheby's last June. Sales values in the millions are no longer a rarity. The auction house Christie's recently auctioned the NFT collage Everydays: The First 5000 Days by the artist Beeple for the equivalent of more than 58 million euros. Existential Questions With their first institutional solo exhibition St. Beisel in the Kunsthalle Gießen, the artist duo Studio Beisel gives the global hype surrounding digital artworks an 'existential' dimension. Guided by a pilgrim's pass, visitors are not only accompanied on a journey from this world to the afterlife, but are also led into the gaming arena of crypto culture. Because in their walk-in installation, the artists combine physical space with the digital: when roaming through the installation, the audience is asked to leave visual or acoustic traces, from which Laurenz Raschke and Kajetan Skurski generate NFTs. These will be sold to the highest bidders at the finissage on January 9, 2022 during a trade fair. In a humorously broken way, the artists transfer the reflection on life after death, the human desire to leave traces of one's own existence, into the virtual present. The visitors' NFTs become a form of digital immortality that can also be purchased. In this way, the buyers secure their own obituary in virtual space. NFT fair and sacred fair merge with each other - and raise questions, also with regard to their ecological, social and ideological function. At the same time, the NFT auction, dubbed a trade fair, can be understood as an ironic dig at the great hype surrounding the new digital art genre. Because the future potential of NFTs is not undisputed: proponents refer, among other things, to the democratizing potential and the utopian idea of being able to establish a new art sphere and genre through NFTs, which – detached from traditional evaluation criteria and institutional gatekeepers – can be collectively co-determined . Dissenting voices, on the other hand, emphasize the immense energy consumption in the generation of the data chains, the lack of any evaluation standards and the associated risk of bad investments as well as a rapidly growing monopoly. The artist duo incorporates the global phenomenon of NFTs, their promises and risks in St. Beisel and thus poses new long-term questions about artistic quality and the economic benefits for art and society. A selection of these unique digital works of art made by Studio Beisel can be purchased at the NFT fair for the finissage of the exhibition on January 9, 2022 in the Kunsthalle Gießen. The website of the artists studiobeisel.com will be developed into a virtual showroom for the duration of the exhibition, in which curious visitors and potential buyers can obtain information in advance of the auction.



* A sign here means a unit of information, one that is structurally defined and accepted
Data set consisting of several individual data points.

Text:
Giessen art gallery


 

Advice on buying NFTs under the
NFT charity auction by Studio Beisel

 

From December 21, 2021 to January 9, 2022

an edition of 12 of the NFTs developed by Studio Beisel in the Kunsthalle Gießen can be auctioned.

The proceeds of the auction will be donated to the association " Bündnis gegen Depression Gießen eV " .

 

Notes on the NFT Auction

  • Through the virtual showroom or the individual NFTs on our website, you will
    directed to the online platform rarible.com. Here you can bid on the digital works of art.

     

  • In order to take part in the auction, you must first create a so-called “wallet”.
    A wallet acts as a kind of digital purse.

     

  • A wallet can e.g. B. at the provider  MetaMask  to generate.
     

  • For this you have to download MetaMask as an app or add-on for the browsers Google Chrome or Firefox.
    Once downloaded, follow the MetaMask setup steps provided.

     

  • You can also find installation instructions for MetaMask under the following link:
    www.metamask.zendesk.com...
     

  • If you have any questions, the Kunsthalle Gießen will be happy to help you by telephone on 0151 727 138 25 . Times:


    December 27, 2021:
       2:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m
    January 03 – January 07, 2022:
       2:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m

 




 

Please note that variable fees may arise when using MetaMask.

The Kunsthalle Gießen and the artist duo Studio Beisel are not liable.

You can find more information about the NFT fair, charity auction and the St. Beisel exhibition in the Kunsthalle Gießen  here .

 

Kunsthalle

Kunsthalle

Studio

Studio

16 h

4 p.m

   auction 

auction 

NFT

NFT -

January

January

2022

2022

09

09

+

----

-

October

October

2021

2021

22

22

*

*

beisel

beisel

Beisel

Beisel

st

st

to water

To water

logo white st_edited.png

NFT- Messe

9. Januar 16h

Live-Stream Event aus

der Kunsthalle Giessen 
hier auf studiobeisel.com

digitale Auktion auf rarible.com

Virtueller Showroom

closer look

Kunsthalle Giessen über Kryptokunst, NFTs und St. Beisel:

NFT – Non Fungible Token – heißt so viel wie ‚nicht austauschbares Zeichen*.
Es handelt sich hierbei um eine digitale Datei, die ausschließlich im virtuellen Raum existiert. Als fest definierte Form ist der Token ein Unikat. Abgesichert ist das NFT durch eine sogenannte Blockchain – eine Art kollektiv einsehbares „Kontobuch“ [Kolja Reichert 2021, S. 10].

 

Die darin enthaltenen Datenketten sind fälschungssicher und dokumentieren ein digitales Produkt ebenso wie seine Besitzhistorie (Provenienz) dauerhaft und unveränderlich. Die digitale Datei als Unikat und die durch die Blockchain gewährleistete Sicherheit im Verkauf machen NFTs für unterschiedlichste Bereiche attraktiv, ganz gleich ob in der Musik-, Film- und Gamingindustrie, dem Sport oder der bildenden Kunst. So sind Künstler*innen mithilfe der Blockchain-Technologie in der Lage, ihre digitalen Werke schnell und sicher auf Online-Plattformen hochzuladen, einem breiten Publikum sichtbar zu machen und zu verkaufen. Die Art der Kunst ist dabei überaus vielfältig. NFTs können ebenso singuläre Bilder als auch Videos, Animationen, Collagen oder rein auditiv sein. Aufgrund ihrer einzigartigen Datenketten sind diese Kunstwerke gleichwertig mit einem signierten Original. Gleichzeitig ist das NFT durch die beschriebene Datenkette von sensitiv identischen Kopien als digitales Unikat unterscheidbar. Auf Online-Plattformen wie OpenSea und Nifty Gateway können sie, zumeist durch Nutzung von Krypto-Währungen, erworben werden.

 

Kevin McCoys Quantum (#1) gilt heute als erstes NFT. Das digitale Kunstwerk wurde 2014 von McCoy auf einer Konferenz von Rhizome, einem Magazin für digitale Kultur, präsentiert und im vergangenen Juni für 1,4 Millionen US-Dollar bei Sotheby’s versteigert. Verkaufswerte in Millionenhöhe sind inzwischen keine Seltenheit mehr. So versteigerte das Auktionshaus Christie’s unlängst die NFT-Collage Everydays: The First 5000 Days des Künstlers Beeple für umgerechnet über 58 Millionen Euro. Existenzielle Fragen Mit ihrer ersten institutionellen Einzelausstellung St. Beisel in der Kunsthalle Gießen verleiht das Künstlerduo Studio Beisel dem globalen Hype um die digitalen Kunstwerke eine ‚existenzielle‘ Dimension. Angeleitet von einem Pilgerpass werden die Besucher*innen nicht nur auf einer Reise vom Diesseits ins Jenseits begleitet, sondern auch in die Spielarena der Krypto-Kultur geführt. Denn in ihrer begehbaren Installation verbinden die Künstler den physischen Raum mit dem digitalen: Beim Durchstreifen der Installation wird das Publikum aufgefordert, visuelle oder akustische Spuren zu hinterlassen, aus denen Laurenz Raschke und Kajetan Skurski NFTs generieren. Diese werden zur Finissage am 09. Januar 2022 im Rahmen einer Messe an die Höchstbietenden verkauft. Humoristisch gebrochen übertragen die Künstler die Reflexion über das Leben nach dem Tod, das menschliche Verlangen, Spuren der eigenen Existenz zu hinterlassen, in die virtuelle Gegenwart. Die NFTs der Besucher*innen avancieren zu einer Form von digitaler Unsterblichkeit, die zudem käuflich erworben werden kann. Damit sichern die Käufer*innen ihren eigenen Nachruf im virtuellen Raum. NFT-Messe und sakrale Messe verschmelzen miteinander – und werfen Fragen auf, auch hinsichtlich ihrer ökologischen, sozialen und ideologischen Funktion. Zugleich kann die als Messe betitelte NFT-Auktion als ironischer Seitenhieb auf den großen Hype der neuen digitalen Kunstgattung verstanden werden. Denn das Zukunftspotenzial von NFTs ist nicht unumstritten: Befürworter*innen berufen sich u. a. auf das demokratisierende Potenzial und die utopische Vorstellung, durch NFTs eine neue Kunstsphäre und -gattung etablieren zu können, die – losgelöst von tradierten Bewertungskriterien und institutionellen Gatekeepern – kollektiv mitbestimmt werden kann. Gegenstimmen betonen hingegen den immensen Energieverbrauch bei der Erzeugung der Datenketten, das Fehlen jeglicher Bewertungsmaßstäbe und damit verbundene Risiko für Fehlinvestitionen sowie eine schnell wachsende Monopolbildung. Das Künstlerduo inkorporiert das globale Phänomen der NFTs, ihre Verheißungen und Risiken in St. Beisel und stellt damit langfristige Fragen nach der künstlerischen Qualität und dem ökonomischen Nutzen für die Kunst und Gesellschaft neu. Eine von Studio Beisel getroffene Selektion dieser einzigartigen digitalen Kunstwerke kann auf der NFT-Messe zur Finissage der Ausstellung am 09. Januar 2022 in der Kunsthalle Gießen käuflich erworben werden. Die Website der Künstler studiobeisel.com entwickelt sich während der Laufzeit der Ausstellung zum virtuellen Showroom, in dem sich neugierige Besucher*innen ebenso wie potenzielle Käufer*innen im Vorfeld der Auktion informieren können.



* Als Zeichen ist hier eine Informationseinheit gemeint, ein in seiner Struktur definierter und akzeptierter
Datensatz bestehend aus mehreren einzelnen Datenpunkten.

Text:
Kunsthalle Giessen


 

Hinweise zum Kauf von NFTs im Rahmen der
NFT-Benefizauktion von Studio Beisel

 

Vom 21. Dezember 2021 bis zum 9. Januar 2022

kann eine 12er-Edition der von Studio Beisel in der Kunsthalle Gießen entwickelten NFTs ersteigert werden.

Der Erlös der Auktion wird an den Verein Bündnis gegen Depression Gießen e.V. gespendet.

 

Hinweise zur NFT-Versteigerung

  • Über den virtuellen Showroom bzw. die einzelnen NFTs auf unserer Website wirst Du
    zu der Online-Plattform rarible.com geleitet. Hier kannst Du die digitalen Kunstwerke ersteigern.

     

  • Um an der Auktion teilzunehmen, musst Du zuvor noch eine sogenannte „Wallet“ kreieren.
    Eine Wallet fungiert als eine Art digitale Geldbörse.

     

  • Eine Wallet kann man z. B. bei dem Anbieter MetaMask generieren.
     

  • Dafür musst Du MetaMask als App oder Add-On für die Browser Google Chrome oder Firefox herunterladen.
    Folge nach dem Download den angegebenen Einrichtungsschritten von MetaMask.

     

  • Darüber hinaus findet Du auch noch unter dem folgenden Link eine Installationsansleitung von MetaMask:
    www.metamask.zendesk.com...
     

  • Falls Du dazu fragen hast, steht Dir die Kunsthalle Gießen unter 0151 727 138 25 telefonisch zur Seite. Zeiten:


    27. Dezember 2021:   14:00 bis 17:00 Uhr
    03. Januar – 07. Januar 2022:   14:00 bis 17:00 Uhr

 




 

Bitte beachte, dass variable Gebühren im Umgang mit MetaMask entstehen können.

Die Kunsthalle Gießen und das Künstlerduo Studio Beisel haften nicht.

Weitere Informationen zur NFT-Messe, Benefizauktion und der Ausstellung St. Beisel in der Kunsthalle Gießen findest Du hier.